X
X
Back to the top
X

Valérie Sajdik & Cédric Chauveau Duo

The duo Valérie Sajdik (voice) and Cédric Chauveau (piano), unite in a singular musical universe two rich backgrounds of music and cultural crossbreeding. They present a first album that is characterized by their sense of melody and their taste for poetry.

In mainly English songs, but also some French ones, Valerie and Cedric tell stories of staggering tightrope walkers, sleepwalkers, dreamers of stars, drunkards in denial and Baudelaire’s dog who won’t let himself be done.

Since Valerie’s last album, “Les Nuits Blanches”, on which she sang her sleepless nights in the form of jazzy songs, some time has passed. The artist, who lives in the south of France and in Vienna, Austria, has not yet completely overcome her insomnia, and so new songs have emerged, for example during her concerts in New York at the legendary Cabaret Sabarsky with her Kurt Weill repertoire, as well as during her trips to France. Her musical accomplice, co-composer and arranger, is the French jazz pianist Cédric Chauveau, whose trio album “It’s only a Papermoon” was rated “Revelation” by the French Jazz Magazine.

After a musical roadtrip in different genres, Valerie has landed, without compromise and without net, with the album “Funambule”. The fact that life remains a tightrope act in this process is another question and constitutes the thematic arc of this album.

From her beginnings with the electronic jazz project “Saint Privat” to her solo hit “Regen”, where she was to be marketed as a variety starlet, one can always hear the love for jazz in all her songs. And in this album “Funambule”, she reconciles herself with her diversity and her supposed contradictions. With Cedric, she re-records her German hit “Regen” in a jazzy English version.

Masha Kaleko and her poem “Tightrope walker without a net” have been with her not only since she discovered Kaleko’s memorial plaque in New York’s East Village and experienced a very moving moment. At the end of the day, what matters is to be understood. And to understand oneself. The many facets of Valerie have their say, find a common denominator and thus form the most personal, harmonious and stylistically pure album of her career so far.

On the other hand, Cedric Chauveau’s career path is quite linear. Since his encounter with jazz, he has never stopped trying to deepen his musical expression, which is largely impregnated with blues, swing and gospel. However, he is not closed to other musical styles, quite the contrary, and is enriched by each experience. He likes to melt into the universe of the artists he accompanies and brings his sense of harmonization and humor.

 

SARL ANTHEDESIGN - SIRET : 75221735600019

X
X
Back to the top
X

Valérie Sajdik & Cédric Chauveau duo

Album « FUNAMBULE »

Par le duo Valérie SAJDIK & Cédric CHAUVEAU

Le duo Valérie Sajdik (voix) et Cédric Chauveau (piano), réunit en un univers musical singulier deux parcours riches de musique et de métissage culturel. Ils présentent un premier album qui caractérise leur sens de la mélodie et leur goût pour la poésie.

Dans des chansons principalement anglaises, mais aussi françaises, Valérie et Cédric racontent des histoires de funambules titubants, de somnambules, de rêveurs d’étoiles, d’ivrognes dans le déni et du chien de Baudelaire qui ne se laisse pas faire.

Depuis le dernier album de Valérie, « Les Nuits Blanches », sur lequel elle chantait ses nuits blanches sous forme de chansons jazzy, un certain temps s’est écoulé.

L’artiste, qui vit dans le sud de la France et à Vienne en Autriche, n’a pas encore complètement surmonté ses insomnies. De nouvelles chansons ont donc vu le jour, par exemple lors de ses concerts à New York au légendaire Cabaret Sabarsky avec son répertoire Kurt Weill, ainsi que lors de ses voyages en France. Son complice musical, co-compositeur et arrangeur, est le pianiste de jazz français Cédric Chauveau, dont l´album en trio « It´s only a Papermoon » a été classé « Révélation »  par Jazz Magazine (magazine français de jazz).

Après un roadtrip musical dans différents genres, Valérie a atterri, sans concessions et sans filet, avec l´album « Funambule ». Le fait que la vie reste un numéro de funambule dans ce processus est une autre question et constitue l’arc thématique de cet album.

De ses débuts avec le projet de jazz électronique « Saint Privat » à son tube solo « Regen », où elle devait être cataloguée comme une starlette de la variété, on entend toujours l’amour pour le jazz dans toutes ses chansons. Et dans cet album « Funambule », elle se réconcilie avec sa diversité et ses supposées contradictions. Avec Cédric, elle tente de réenregistrer son tube allemand « Regen » dans une version anglaise jazzy.

Masha Kaleko et son poème « Funambule sans filet » l’accompagnent non seulement depuis qu’elle a découvert la plaque commémorative de Kaleko dans l’East Village de New York et vécu un moment très émouvant. Au fond, ce qui compte, c’est d’être compris, et de se comprendre soi-même. Les nombreuses facettes de Valérie ont leur mot à dire, trouvent un dénominateur commun et forment ainsi l’album le plus personnel, harmonieux et stylistiquement pur de sa carrière jusqu’à présent.

A l’inverse, le parcours de Cédric Chauveau épouse une certaine linéarité. Depuis sa rencontre avec le jazz, il n’a cessé de chercher à approndir son expression musicale imprégnée largement de blues, de swing, de gospel. Pour autant, il n’est pas fermé aux autres styles musicaux, bien au contraire, et s’enrichit de chaque expérience. Il aime se fondre dans les univers des artistes qu’il accompagne et apporte son sens de l’harmonisation, et de l´humour.

SARL ANTHEDESIGN - SIRET : 75221735600019